Melanie Fiona Covers The Notorious B.I.G.’s “One More Chance (Remix)”

Allow me to preface everything I am about to say by informing you all that The Notorious B.I.G. is my favorite music artist of all-time.

Now, Melanie Fiona… I LOVE YOU! This is probably one of the best covers I have ever heard. Not only did she simply cover the vocals (including Biggie’s) but she remade the beat WITH HER VOICE! Yeah, I pretty damn impressed and I guarantee that I will be watching this video a countless number of times.

I found out she has done this type of cover to a few other songs–this one was the best–and because of this cover I will now be on a mission to listen to as much music by Melanie Fiona as possible. When she started singing Biggie’s verse I was floored because she really made it her own, it no longer felt like a cover but like a Melanie Fiona song. And because of that I would be shocked if her own music is unimpressive. I have only heard a few songs from her and since I am indifferent about today’s R&B, I never gave her music a chance. So, I am praying that this amazing cover is not just a fluke.

If Biggie were still alive, his 41st birthday would have been 2 days ago and I am not sure if he would like where hip-hop is today but I am sure he would see this cover by Melanie Fiona and instantly try to sign her. A couple traits of Biggie’s that are often not mentioned are his ambition and his ear for music.

notorious-big

R.I.P. B.I.G. (May 21, 1972 – March 9, 1997)

Leave a Reply

