My 10 Most Anticipated Films For The Summer of 2013

10. Elysium

Release Date: August 9th

This movie looks like a stereotypical Sci-Fi fan’s wet-dream from the director of 2009’s District 9; Neil Blomkamp. From the trailer, Elysium looks action-packed and star-studded. I would have ranked it higher on this list if it was not for the guy with the sword–there should not be swords in the future, I mean do you see the other weapons in this trailer?

9. The Hangover Part III

Release Date: May 24th

The third and final part to a series that really should have never been a series. The first movie is a classic, one of the best comedies of the past 15 years but that just wasn’t good enough was it? Nope. They had to make another one that was just like the first one. But I’m kind of excited for this one because the group is going back to Vegas and Carlos is supposed to make an appearance. I hope the series ends on a good note.

8. White House Down

Release Date: June 28th

No offense to the great Morgan Freeman but I refused to watch Olympus Has Fallen until I have first seen White House Down. Why? Because I do not want to insult Jamie Foxx’s performance as president by supporting his competition.

In his last movie he was a slave, and in his next movie he will be Spider-Man’s nemesis. From slave, to president, to villain; that’s just honorable. I think Jamie Foxx has a chance to be the best president in a movie since Chris Rock. Yeah, I said it, Chris Rock!

But seriously I am excited to see this movie because let’s face it, Roland Emmerich is one of the best directors for disaster movies.

7. Fast & Furious 6

Release Date: May 24th

Why is there a 6th part to the Fast & Furious series? Because it is going to be awesome on top of awesome! I have no idea how they are doing it but these movies may not have the greatest actors or storylines but they are pretty damn entertaining.

And who isn’t interested on seeing how Letty survived and where the hell she was hiding? Seriously.

6. Kick-Ass 2

Release Date: August 16th

How can Christopher Mintz-Plasse out grow McLovin? I don’t know, but playing a villain named “The Mother Fucker” is a step in the right direction.

Just when I thought Chloe Grace Moretz couldn’t be much more of a bad-ass, she proves me wrong with her ability to kick ass–literally and figuratively. She is only 16 and this is like her 30th movie.

I also want to see this movie to see how smooth the transition is from Nicolas Cage to Jim Carrey as the creepy-adult-vigilante who hangs out with a group teenage vigilantes.

5. This Is The End

Release Date: June 18th

In the event of an apocalypse, I know Hollywood is burning down first, so I always wanted to see the apocalypse in the celebrity’s perspective.  And thanks to Seth Rogen, I am about to see it.

Do I really have to breakdown how incredible this movie looks and will be? Danny McBride, Emma Watson, Rihanna (deceased), Seth Rogen, Craig Robinson, Jonah Hill, and several other pretty cool celebrities.

But I think Aziz Ansari would be an ideal survivor during an apocalypse though, at least before James Franco.

4. Only God Forgives

Release Date: July 19th

Did I just see Ryan Gosling drag a man through a hallway by the teeth? YES I DID! I loved Drive, and to see Ryan Gosling reconnect with Nicolas Winding Refn gives this movie promise, on merit alone. But to see these visuals just has me ecstatic.

“Do you want to fight?” WHO SAYS THAT!? An ass-kicker, that’s who!

I can’t wait to see this movie.

 3. Star Trek: Into The Darkness

Release Date: May 17th

This looks incredible! Almost as incredible as Zoe Saldana looks.

The 2009 film was a great way to build on what I am guessing will be a lengthy movie series. Judging by the trailer this film will force growth upon Kirk as a young captain by throwing a multitude of scenarios his way of which he has to make a tough decisions for. There is so much intensity in this trailer, I am expecting non-stop action from this film.

Good Luck, J.J. Abrams.

2. Man Of Steel

Release Date: June 14th

Zack Snyder and Christopher Nolan are about to give birth to one hell of a movie people! And what makes it better is that it is a Superman movie. I have seen just about every Superman movie and none of them have come close to the level of any of the good Batman movies. But this one looks like it can contend with Batman Begins and how Christopher Nolan used it as the foundation for one of the greatest movie series of all-time.

I have very high expectations for this movie and I’ll be surprised if it doesn’t exceed them all.

1. Iron Man 3

Release Date: May 3rd

I am excited to see this specific superhero film the most because it is going to put a different spin on how superheroes are perceived–similar to The Dark Knight Rises. In the wake of the chaos from The Avengers movie, Tony Stark is kind of stressed out. His stress is emphasized throughout this trailer with his inability to sleep and the country’s constant need for him to come to its rescue. We are beginning to see that Tony Starks is regretting his vigilante efforts as the pressure is beginning to outweigh the glory.

Leave a Reply

