‘Avengers’ review

This past weekend I went to view the long-awaited Marvel blockbuster The Avengers. I definitely consider myself a comic book nerd by all means and I went into this movie skeptical because I have seen Marvel fail terribly at bringing their superheroes to the big screen but certainly not as bad as DC has.

In 2003 Marvel really disappointed me with the film Hulk, when they had Eric Bana play the role as Dr. Bruce Banner in which might have been the worse superhero movie I have ever watched. 1n 2008 Marvel decided to take another run at it by releasing The Incredible Hulk, starring Edward Norton as the Hulk. Norton had experience at the Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde type role in Fight Club. Norton was beyond a boost from Eric Bana’s portrayal of Dr. Banner which is why I was disappointed to hear that Edward Norton would not participate in this Avengers project. I did not know much about Mark Ruffalo, I only knew him from his role in Martin Scorsese’s Shutter Island. Despite my skepticism I have nothing to negative to say about Ruffalo’s portrayal of Dr. Bruce Banner, in fact I think he portrayed him even better than Edward Norton. It may have been the lack of a love interest but Ruffalo made his portrayal of Dr. Banner the focal point of the film by being able to emphasize on Banner’s ominous, mysterious qualities unlike Norton or Bana ever did.

Robert Downey Jr.’s portrayal of Tony Starks was better than in both Iron Man and Iron Man 2. Downey more so than in previous films emphasized on Tony Starks’ arrogant, narcissistic, and snarky qualities which made him very standout despite the numerous personalities in the film. Chris Hemsworth also elevated his portrayal of his character, Thor. Thor might have been slightly underused but nonetheless whenever he made an appearance it was enjoyable.

Scarlett Johansson‘s portrayal of the Black Widow and Tom Hiddleston‘s portrayal of Loki were surely not forgettable, and definitely had a great impact on the film but they were out-shined by the superheroes; as they should have been. Both Black Widow and Loki were given much more of a back story than in either other film they were featured in.

The true star of this film to me is not in front of the camera, I am talking about director Joss Whedon. Whedon being a writer and director for this film also showed that he is a fan of the comic and that is a good thing because his passion for the story shined through the movie. I can only imagine how strenuous it must have been to juggle all of these different characters, their different personalities, and put them together and make them mesh so well. Whedon was able to spin-off of each characters separate film, tie them all together, and give the audience a story line that was easy to follow without a dull moment.  Every superhero movie always has a flaw and that flaw always has to due with the love interest of the superhero, well I guess I would have to say The Avengers was flawless because there were not any romantic scenes.

If I had to have one criticism about this project it would be that Jeremy Renner‘s character Hawkeye was underused and I found that disappointing because he played a pivotal role in the comic books as a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent and as a member of The Avengers but that criticism is just me nitpicking.

As a avid fan of comic books, especially Marvel, I must say this is the greatest superhero movie I have ever seen. Better than Tim Burton‘s Batman, better than Christopher Nolan‘s The Dark Knight. The reason I like it again because there are no romantic scenes, no dull moments, and the special effects are superb.

Leave a Reply

