A Ravens fan from Chicago?

People often ask me how I am a Baltimore Ravens fan being from Chicago. The reason is simple; for the majority of my life the Chicago Bears have been a terrible team. I was born in 1990 so I wasn’t able to see the greatness of Walter Payton. The Bears will always be a team that I root for because that is my hometown but growing up they never ceased to let me down. The Bears have made the playoffs twice in my life 2005 and 2010 but have only made it to the Superbowl in 2005.

I grew up in a house where my father was a die hard Pittsburgh Steelers fan but when I was a kid they were not that good either. I have always loved football but I did not get a true “favorite” team until 2000-01 when the underdog Baltimore Ravens won the Superbowl over the New York Giants. Ray Lewis became my favorite player instantly because at the time I was middle linebacker in my local little league football team.

Being a Baltimore Ravens fan caused a lot of controversy between my dad and I because the Ravens grew to be rivals with the Pittsburgh Steelers, to this day we bet on their match-ups. Being a Chicago-native I have always rooted for the Bears unless the went against the Ravens.

Leave a Reply

